In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

The education system globally changing rapidly, where it focus more on job market and prepare the future generation to compete in it. On the other side, there been arguments whether students should continue studying until they complete their degree programs or they should get a break between school and higher education. There are pros and cons in both these arguments.

The work or travel experience after students complete their schooling and before they start heir university curriculum has advantages. As such, travelling and experiencing pleasant environment will be the best stress relief method for students in between two major education systems. This is essential after all their hard work during their school life, which will help to refresh their mind and focus on university studies.

Further, practical experience on what they have studied will be beneficial for young adults. This will also help them to select their specialization area in university, which they are capable of and the areas, which have high demand in job market.

However, these activities will also be drawbacks for young students. The young people tend to earn more money for entertainment, which will divert their importance in education. on the other hand, financial resources during early ages will temp them to do wrong things, like visiting night clubs and alcohol consumption.

Furthermore, travelling will also tend to distract the students' on education. During travelling young students expose to many interesting things and meet people, which will negatively affect their education.

In summary, work or travel between completing school education and starting university education have both benefits and drawbacks. These breaks will benefit students in preparing themselves for a successful high education. On contrast, it will divert their focus on education as well.