In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high schools and starting university studies. Discuss advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do so.

Before embarking on college, many young people are advised that a year working or travelling may be a good option. This essay will suggest that saving money is the biggest advantage and a reduced motivation to study is the major disadvantage of this.

Tertiary education is very expensive in most of the countries. The students drop out to save some money after high school to work for 12 months before beginning their college studies. This allows them to pay for their accommodation, tuition fees, basic necessities and relieve them from the stress of part-time jobs, thereby helping them focus on their studies rather than struggling financially on the top of their academic work. The Times recently reported that the average tuition fees for universities in the U.K. are $12,000 per annum and many drop out because they cannot afford to stay. Talking of travelling, it gives a break to a student from the regular curriculum and also gain the experience of the outside world. Travelling and working for a year before entering college, helps a student to broaden their horizons.

Despite these advantages, many students get used to travelling or working that they do not want to return to their study life after taking a year off. This short term view can cause them to bypass university altogether and go straight into jobs that they may not be capable of or that may not provide the same career opportunity as it would have been after the third level education. For instance, a recent survey found that almost a quarter of students who take a gap-year never enter the college.

In conclusion, taking a break from education can be advantageous if it helps people gather some savings, however, they should also be careful that it does not lead to demotivate them to continue their college studies.