In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this?

Teenagers often do job or visit after completing their higher education in some parts of the country. this essay will suggest that support financially to their parents is the main advantage of working in the gap year and decrease in interest to their study is the disadvantage of this.

To begin, by employing in an office or any workplace, they can reduce their financial tension. University education is very expensive and by collecting some extra money in the year between high school and bachelor level, they can pay their tuition and living fee in their own. In addition, by traveling as well, they gain more knowledge and broaden their mind. For example, many students go long tour in that period of time and learn different cultures, skills and lifestyle of others and apply in their daily life. Therefore, it is important to travel or work before joining for tirtiary education.

On the other hand, students do not want to come back in study field after the gap year. this is because they earn more money and want to continue the job rather than focusing to study. Also, they are confuse to which subject to choose as they don’t make the plan to study and feel bore to take the class again. For instance, the recent survey found that more than 70% students don’t come back to join for bachelor degree once they have involved in job after completing +2 level. So that, gap year lacks the students to return in their study.

In conclusion, students are able to help their parents economically but they detract their education due to large gap. In my opinion, students should do job in order to support their family as well as for their study however, they shouldn’t lose the education.