In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Nowadays, many hold the view that it is beneficial to college study when graduates in some high schools choose to travel or work for a few years or months before going to universities. However, there is a body of opinion which claims that this will bring about disadvantages to their future learning at college. In this essay I will examine both sides of the debate to seek a conclusion.

To begin with, it is undeniable that travelling for some time may help students expand outlook and then benefit their college learning, since they may come across different kinds of new things during the journey, which can help them better perceive the relevant courses that they are going to select at college. In addition, working for a year can improve students’ social skills, which are one of the main goals in university. Only at work, can they more often than not be required to collaborate with others in order to complete tasks both perfectly and quickly, which means that the students at workshops can obtain a golden opportunity to learn cooperation.

On the other hand, however, absence from school for a period of time might conceivably harm college studies, since during the gap year students may forget the knowledge that they have acquired in high schools and find it difficult to readapt to an academic environment. Furthermore, young adults may end up never returning to their studies, as they think that it is better to continue in a particular job or to do something completely different from a university course.

To summarize, there is no doubt that there are certainly risks in high school graduates taking time off to travel or work before they go to college. At the same time, nonetheless, during the gap they can also gain knowledge and collaboration, which are of great significance to their further learning. In the final analysis, therefore, one can only conclude that taking a few months to travel or work has more advantages than drawbacks to the soon-to-be college students’ study.