In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing school and starting university studies.

Many people believe that before furthering your education, you should gain experience by visiting places or work within a year in the gap between starting the university and finishing the high school. This essay will take a closer look at the matters, showing my opinion and giving fair reasons to support it.

On the one hand, it is true to say that there are factors leading to think that it could be advantage of working or traveling abroad. First, by visiting another country you will gain a valuable experience which will help you for your career, studies or life. Second, those who are choosing to help themselves in future studies are participating in programs helping them to boost the needed experience, for example: students who are going to study in university or college but they are lacking of the required background, are choosing to look for companies which are providing a summer jobs or educational preparing programs. Third, the achieved experience during that gap between the school and university will increase the student’s interest even more.

On the other hand, the forementioned might not be completely true because, firstly, by traveling or working abroad in between the gap starting university and finishing high school it could lead to a distraction and might be jeopardizes his future studying. In addition, it is very hard decision to make, choosing to work abroad or directly to start the university after finishing the high school.

In conclusion, there are evidences providing that claims are there, yet I am inclined to agree with the first mentioned.