In a number of nations, the youth is motivated either to work or travel for a year, after completing their high school and before entering tertiary education. The essay will discuss both its pros and cons for young people.

Firstly, when pupils decide to work or travel I the break they between their secondary and tertiary education they might initially face a lots of problems related to the adaptations that they have to make in order to get use to the new place, new culture and also new traditions. For instance, one of my friends decided to go on for a country tour to get some experience of visiting new places and meeting new people but he could not complete the tour due to the challenges he faced and could not get past them. This caused him in low confidence.

But it always does not have a negative impact on a person. The young people who travel or work after the completion of their high school studies, explore a complete new world and get a chance to experience about how the life they will be living after university. They might face a lot of problems while they are working or travelling, but once they get over these challenges they will be able cope with all the difficulties that they might face in the later stages of their life. According to a survey done by BBC, it was reported that the students who had the experience of working before were far more successful than the rest.

Overall, pupils who have experience of either working or travelling mostly have positive effects on their life with a minimal amount of challenges that they have to face only in the early stages.