In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

It is true that in certain nations scholars are impelled to take a year off and get involved in any profession or travelling prior to commencing their university studies. Even though it appears to be the noble notion, it features its own merits and demerits out of which handful of them will be discussed in this essay.

As considered positive by many, a year gap after accomplishing secondary education is the most deserved event of the life as it determines the future of the students and equips them with ample opportunities and assistance to acquire information about the real state of the contemporary living. Working or travelling builds inner confidence and mindset, that for sure will enhance the future of the scholar. Moreover, it will also promote youth towards cultural tolerance, wider perspective and raise real passion within, which will configure the forthcoming destiny of them. For instance, statistics from Harvard University, 2015, disclosed that drop-out rate from university courses was around ten per cent less in those scholars who choose the course after a gap year in comparison to the other who headed straight to university after high school.

In contrast, this concept also follows a few drawbacks that are worth mentioning. If interruption of studying persists for more than a year then scholars will not ever return back in their academic life. The reason for this is rather simple, they will disperse their interest in pursuing their high-level study and get motivated to empower them in the working or travelling field. For instance, 2015 report from Florida University revealed that one in 100 students, who take a year off never return back to accomplish their study.

To summarize, the discontinuity in academic career will, of course, assist undergraduates to discover their major interest, however, the significant importance of future study should not be ignored.