In some countries, young people have become richer, healthier, and live longer, but they are less happy. What are the causes? What can be done to address this situation?

It is true that, particular in developed countries, the youth of today enjoy longer lives and better health accompanied with other conveniences. However, they do not know the meaning of life and the joy of living to the fullest. I would argue that this trend could be explained by various causes and there are some steps might be taken to improve the situation.

Helicopter parents and the influence of advertising commercial are believed to be the major causes of the dissatisfaction of today’s youngsters. In terms of parenthood, nuclear families seem to be more popular in modern society and they are more prone to be overprotective parents. In some household, for example, children are usually exempted from mundane tasks as well as have everything they want. From the perspective of advertising, young people may become the target audience of marketing industry since they are easily swayed by eye-catching advertisements. TV channels and online advertising take the youth into buying goods impulsively, such products like toy, electronic devices or trendy clothes are said to bring them happiness.

There are various steps that both parents and government could take to tackle these problems. Firstly, it is necessary to encourage children to take part in outdoor activities or take up musical instruments as a hobby. Besides, youngsters should be taught to take full responsibility for their lives and lead a self-sufficient life. Secondly, to deal with the advertising, parents must tell their offspring to be wary of claims made in advertisements and governments can introduce restriction or impose a ban on marketing which aim mainly at the youth.

In conclusion, by the two measures mentioned above, parents and government could help efforts to bring more fulfillment and happiness into the lives of today’s youth.