People say that it is a waste of time for high school students to learn literature such as novels and poems. Do you agree or disagree?

It is generally believed that high school student should focus on science-based subjects in order to prepare for higher education or the world of work. While knowledge in this field is undeniably valuable to the community, I would argue that the importance of studying literature should not be underestimated.

The first reason in favor of my argument is that novels and poems play an important role in the economy of many countries. The publishing industry is a multi-billion dollar business internationally. For example, the Harry Potter novels have sold millions of copies all over the world. In terms of TV programs, writers are needed to produce works of literary fiction. Novels, poems and plays in high school days have inspired many of these writers.

Another reason supporting my view is that there is a wide range of benefits relating to the study of literature. Firstly, literary geniuses such as William Shakespeare often use their masterpieces as a vehicle to praise benevolence and condemn wickedness as well as reflect the portrayal of old life’s society. Therefore, studying those pieces of work not only nurtures children’s emotional stamina but also encourages them to appreciate the aesthetic qualities of novels and poems. Secondly, the literary heritage of humanity cannot be calculated by money. If adolescents are not motivated to develop their interest in literature, then the next generation will lack of talented writers like Tolstoy or Tchaikovsky.

In conclusion, I totally disagree with the view that the study of novels and poems should be neglected since learning literature contributes substantially to high school students’ mental development.