Some people say that outdoor activities bring benefits to children's development rather than computer games. To what extent do you agree/disagree?

There is a common belief that it is better to encourage children to take part in outdoor sports and leisure activities than let them spend many hours sitting in front computer screen. While computer games are undeniably fun, I am totally convinced by the view that outdoors activities are more beneficial for children’s physical and mental development.

The first reason in favor of my argument is that playing too much computer games results in some negative consequences. In terms of physical health, youngsters who are glued to their games consoles may lead a sedentary lifestyle and soon become prone to obesity. Such pattern of behavior does harm to the muscle and immune system during their formative years. From the perspective of mental development, children who are addicted to video games, for example, may suffer from mental health problems such as lack of concentration, stress and anxiety.

Another reason supporting my view is that taking up sports not only build up resistance but also provide children with new experiences. By doing regular exercises, youngsters can build up mental and physical endurance as well as increase their height. Besides, they can develop an interest in their favorite sport such as basketball, swimming, badminton, which they can enjoy in later stages of life to release their stress from study and work. Finally, the vitamin D absorbed from outdoor activities play an essential role in a child’s growth.

In conclusion, playing computer games for long period is detrimental to the physical and mental health of youngsters. Therefore, children should be motivated to have a healthy lifestyle and take gentle exercise to promote their health and well-being.