sport

People have different views about whether or not a number of enterprises promote their products and services through sport and sport stars. While many argue that it is a positive development, I am more convinced that the drawbacks outweigh the advantages.

On the one hand, there are some good reasons why people tend to believe that it is both beneficial for sport and business since sponsorship brings money into sport. Firstly, through sports coverage, sports are able to make the most of their sponsorship to increase their popularity and proliferate the sales of products and services. It is also a golden opportunity for some sports stars like Cristiano Ronaldo, for example, to have gained a fortune from the endorsement of sporting goods. Secondly, as more money is poured into sport, sports stars are paid higher salaries and have chances to access with more advanced training.

In spite of the above arguments, I side with those who advocate that the link between companies and sport has some certain drawbacks. Firstly, it has betrayed the Olympic ideal since companies’ only purpose of using sports stars ‘ images for advertising is to maximize their profit, not to promote sport. Secondly, money in sport has resulted in a win-at-all-cost attitude, regardless of sportsmanship and consequences. Some sportspeople even use illegal substances such as performance-enhancing drugs and risk their career.

In conclusion, I firmly agree with the critics of sponsorship in sport. Although it has brought undeniable benefits to enterprises and sport, it has destroyed the sport spirit of joy and fairness.