A country should spend money on skills training or vocational training for practical work, rather than on university education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that, in some countries, students are not encouraged to follow a vocational training course. While nobody can deny the importance of a university degree, I totally agree that the government should spend funding for more people to qualify as electrician, plumbers and other manual workers.

On the one hand, it is necessary to allocate resources to university education. There is a growing demand for researchers and professionals in fields such as genetics, medicine and technology. Only through university training can they have a good grasp of in-depth knowledge in those areas and have time to put knowledge gained into practice. For example, the search for a vaccine to combat the outbreak of corona virus shows the need for experts in related in various areas. In addition, most good jobs require at least a bachelor’s degree even for simple internship vacancies.

On the other hand, I would content that the government should also prioritize expenditure on vocational skill training. Firstly, such workers are irreplaceable, for example, when a new building is constructed or when existing buildings need renovated or demolished. Secondly, in some developed countries, there is an existing economic imbalance, resulting in unemployed graduates, while suffering from a shortage of skilled labor at the same time. The major reason for this phenomenon is those countries are not encouraging their citizens on skills training.

In conclusion, it is the government’s responsibility to maintain highly qualified professionals as well as specialized skill individuals to reduce the unemployment rate.