People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your own opinion

It is generally believed that it is necessary for the government to alleviate environmental problems by raising petrol prices. While this is an effective solution, I would argue that other measures might have an even greater impact.

If national authorities raised taxes on petrol, it could help address some environmental issues. Firstly, cars’ owner would take into consideration about the number and length of their journey in order not to pay extra charge. Secondly, more goods would be delivered by rail or airway rather than truck. These two methods would help to cut down on carbon emission and reduce the greenhouse effect. However, it could only help to reduce a small amount of gasses released from vehicles since people still cannot cut down the demand for fuel at once/ rely heavily on fuel.

On the other hand, there are some effective measures could be taken to mitigate the dependence on fuel. By taking advantages of alternative energy sources such as solar power or nuclear power in producing energy, we would lower the reliance on fuel. Besides, a congestion charge in rush hours could be taken into consideration to ease the traffic flow. Additionally, the most practical and economic method at the moment is to encourage the use of public transport such as buses or commuter trains as well as offer bus and train passes since it help reduce large volumes of harmful emission.

In conclusion, a sharp rise in petrol prices might be an environmentally friendly solution. However, in the long term, other measures would be more effective.