sports

People have different views about which aspect makes sportsperson achieve success in sport. While those who support mental qualities such as determination and dedication have their own good arguments, I firmly believe that the basis for success is being physically strong.

On the one hand, there are some good reasons why people tend to argue that mental strength plays a crucial role in sportsmen’s achievement. Firstly, sportspeople with a competitive spirit or a win-at-all-cost-attitude may lead to a motivation to work hard and succeed. Without the enthusiasm, the training given may be counterproductive and hours spending in the gym, for example, will be boring and repetitive. Secondly, failures and disappointments in sport are inevitable. Thus, it is necessary for athletes to be mentally strong enough to overcome such situations.

In spite of the above arguments, I side with those who advocate that physical strength is the key to success in sport. Unlike other people whose purpose for playing sports is to escape from everyday routine and keep fit, those who want to succeed in sport must be physically strong. An excellent example of this is sports such as weightlifting, swimming or athletics; they all require the athletes to have physical endurance and stamina. In the past, some sports stars were reported to have even used illegal substances such as performance-enhancing drugs to enhance their physical conditions.

In conclusion, both physical and mental strength are necessary for sportsperson to gain certain achievements. However it is impossible to succeed without being physically strong.