In some country, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in.

What are the reasons for this?

How can people research this?

In recent years, the number of residents who are concerned about the origin of their accommodations are increasing significantly. Each of them has their own reasons why they want to know about that and there are many different measures they can implement to find out that information.

To begin with, there are some main reasons for dwellers’ curiosity about the history of their accommodations. First of all, the history of a building can reflect its current status. Due to this information about the building, residents can know how long it has been used and what has happened with it since it was constructed. As a result, people can know whether or not this building is in good condition or determine exactly where are the locations of the damages of the building so that they can have an effective maintenance plan for their accommodation. For example, if people know that their building was built 20 years ago which was the time when the quality of power lines was not as good as that at present, they will plan to replace the old power line with the new one so they will have a safer and more stable power system. In addition, other people find out the origin or their house because they believe that spiritual aspects of the house can have negative or positive impacts on their life when they live there. For instance, some people in my country believe that were there any murder cases happening in a house, it could bring will bring bad luck to people who live there. Therefore, the owners will try to sell this property while other people will avoid buying or renting it, even if it has a low price.

People can research the history of their accommodations due to multiple sources and one of them is the former owners or their neighbours. This is a reliable source that provides these dwellers with complete and detailed information about the house because the previous owner and those neighbor have lived there for a long time so they know precisely the real condition of the building and the events happening there. Another alternative source is the Internet. Thanks to the development of information technology nowadays, people can learn about the construction stage and major occurrences in the past of a building with just a click of a mouse or a tap of the screen. However, this measure cannot be taken to find information about all buildings since only information about famous ones is stored on Internet.

To sum up, the rise in the curiosity of dwellers about the origin of their accommodations is the results of different factors such as the demand for maintenance or the belief in spirituality and each individual finds different sources of information effective to satisfy this curiosity.