In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way.

Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, the advertisements of businesses focusing on the novelty of their products are fairly common. There are some different factors leading to this phenomenon and it tends to me that this can result in several positive outcomes.

In terms of the causes, this phenomenon is mainly inspired by the fierce competition in the business market. In this modern society, people are allowed to freely trade in goods and services, according to the provisions of laws. As a result, the number of companies which manufacture or sell the same items is increasing significantly, so only when those institutes promote the novelty of their products, can consumers recognize that their items are more special and useful than others. Therefore, these products can attract more customers and their sales can go up, which makes those companies can compete with their industry competitors to survive in the fierce business environment. For example, the first smartphones in the world were produced by Apple incorporation. Those phones were completely different from others at that time because of their new features, especially their touch screens. Apple had launched a huge advertising campaign which emphasized those new features, and this incorporation achieved considerable success in sales. After that, Apple always tries to introduce a new kind of smartphone each year with advertisements for its novelty, which helps them earn billions of dollars. Consequently, nowadays, Apple is one of the biggest tech giants in the world.

This phenomenon has brought about some positive results. First of all, it promotes an increase in the sales of companies, so they can gain more profit and gain competitive advantages over their competitors, which means that countries also develop. For example, the development of those companies can lead to the demand for opening more branches, so they need to recruit new employees, which can reduce the rate of unemployed. Another benefit is that this occurrence encourages all institutes to research and develop their new ideas to produce new items or new features of their recent products so that they can advertise those novelties. Finally, they can have new inventions which can improve people’s life or lead to innovations in many fields.

To sum up, the fierce competition in the business market is the primary reason why businesses focus more on advertising the new features of their items, and this phenomenon has some positive impacts on the development of countries and humans’ life.