In some cultures, children are encouraged to compete against each other. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this approach?

Promoting competitive environment between children and their peers has been commonplace in few cultures. This issue will cite significant merits and demerits which will be elaborated in the forthcoming paragraph.

On the one hand, custom and tradition supporting the children to compete among their fellows believe that it could highly nurture excellent leadership qualities. In other words, the strict upbringing ultimately shapes the way of thinking to become the best one in every field as they are being used to taking a prominent role surrounding during childhood. In addition, the harder the generation to achieve their goals is, the bolder their characteristic will be. This probably gives impactful influence to build better future in which some popular universities may point such youth as consideration.

On the other hand, the reasonable drawback of this means to lose their childhood, knowing the fact that this badly impacts not only psychology side but sympathy characteristic also. Apparently, golden stage is the perfect time to learn social skills such as spending their time playing among same fellows. Furthermore, this norm will probably affects academic value, since they will put it the first priority instead of its process - procuring knowledge. This is because they believe the appraisal surroundings is the only way to get success. In worst case, becoming self-centered and officious is their conceit rather than being a sagacious individual.

In conclusion, the positive views of encouraging adolescent to always win over their peers provide them to be a promising leader and great accomplishment. However, the negatives of this measurability including appropriate childhood experiences as well as the ferociously competitive academic score should be taken into account.