In some cultures, children are encouraged to compete against each other. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this approach?

Youngsters in particular cultures are instilled to compete with one another. The issue would prompt, despite some considerable demerits, several merits which I will elaborate in the following paragraph.

While the significant drawbacks of motivating competitiveness in children would be constantly induce a sense of superiority over others. Published by National Institute of Health, bullying incidents in the classroom often occurs because of aggressive behaviour to intimidate someone. Specifically, individuals may develop narcissistic personality disorder and inferior sense to others. Furthermore, outperforming excellent result contributes to high levels of stress. Along with parent’s expectations, achievement pressure inflicts a tendency to blame and compare oneself to others. As reported by Kyodo News, the excessive competition enrolling prestigious school, Japanese kids are rated one of the worst age groups suffering poor mental health.

Moving to the benefits, it might be stated that this may improve children self-development, primarily shaping creativity and establishing multiple talents. Unconsciously, young learners will devote greater attention and effort to develop strategies which initiate them to gain growth mindset exploring new ideas. Moreover, challenge exposure can accelerate child’s resilience to deal with real life situation. Psychology today presents that 30% students of New York City School accepting failure may put their hard work to complete difficult tests. Considering that, as they are growing older, Juveniles will become accustomed to challenges, allowing them to be perseverant.

In summary, through cultivating young generation to count against/prevail over others could be the potential negatives, including to be conceited child and to encounter growing frustration. However, the positives of this may lead to higher self-esteem and greater self-actualisation.