In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this massage?

Education always has controversial issues involving its methods and standards, sometimes including cultural differences. Many people argue that teaching young children that effort is the key for every achievements can help them build up a good personality while others believe it can bring plenty of negative effects.

On the one hand, some cultures consider attempt as the first-needed quality and want every generations to obtain it. It is a common belief that this kind of messages can draw in their mind a basic foundation of a good social contributer. Children can be more positive to deal with failures and dare to dream as well as achieve their ambitions. In many case, trying hard is an essential factor of a successful person as nothing is easy to obtain.

On the other hand, many people claim that trying hard is not the only quality needed for children. This kind of education, however, can put in them wrong opinions of dealing with things and how to achieve their goals. They may become idealistic dreamers who always try to obtain an unbelievable results and cannot evaluate things in many aspects. Sometimes, they give no care to risks and challenges that they may encounter and put the others in difficult situations. Moreover, when they realise that they cannot achieve everything with efforts, they may be disappointed and lose the ability to dream and cope with problems.

All things considered, I firmly believe that there are other approaches to educated a child about efforts. We should help them have a both positive and realistic vision of their life.