In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

For centuries, people grew up hearing many inspirational stories of personalities who have achieved higher status by putting diligent efforts in their respective fields. It is often believed that children can be instigated to reach their goals if they are being taught to work hard, while many others oppose this ingrained fallacy. This essay would endeavor to shed some light on various shortcomings and benefits that this popular belief can have on our society.

To begin with, it is an undeniable fact that each parent is always aspiring to see the best in their child, so they prefer to transfer their success mantras to them. Despite turning them into a responsible and hard-working individual, these learning are synonymous with the future prospects that prompt them to chase their dreams. For example, it is usually seen that children with ethical learnings are always unstoppable in their goals.

In contrast, the adverse bearings of these fallacious thoughts on the holistic development of our generation can not be overlooked. Due to the pressure of our ingrained expectations, many children soon lose their interest in studies. Moreover, they fail to develop an experimental and exploratory approach towards learning which is highly needed in today's competitive and technical world. In addition, the impact on growing years, both at a physical and mental level can not be ignored. For instance, studies have shown that children develop stress syndromes at an early age due to increased pressure.

To conclude, the school of thought that hard work is the key to success is highly prevalent in our society. However, as their well-wishers, we should be flexible in our approach and allow them to explore their world while sharing values of integrity, and hard work. We should never forget that smart children are needed to run this innovative world.