In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Most often than not, families impose their own unfulfilled dreams on their children, fueling them with ambitions and the promise of riches and the prestige that could be obtained if they just worked hard enough. This method of upbrining could yield both positive and negative results, as it might play a part in motivating children, building their confidence and teaching them about the values of hard work. However, at the same time, it may lead to wishful thinking, perfectionism, and consequently depression.

The more optimistic view would be to consider the advantages: when told about the likelihood of great achivements, children assume that they have the potential to pursue anything they desire. This, in turn, would help raise their self-steam, which would come handy later in their life, as ‘believing in oneself’ is an essential quality for adults to possess. Furthermore, the emphasis on the fact that dreams could only be attained by putting in a substantial amount of effort, would help children realize that adulthood is not easy, and the actualization of ambitions requires working tirelessly. Considering that multiple advertisments may try to push the idea that quick success is possible for everyone, it is of utmost importance to educate children on this critical fact that the way to success is to strive for it.

Although these results are mostly positive, the disadvantages should not be neglected. If the emphasis is on the ‘reaching all your dreams’ part, instead of the ‘hard work’ part, it could very well feed into wishful thinking tendecies of children, and result into the shaping of a passive character who fancies being in high places, yet never lifts a finger to do a thing. Living this form of fantasy life could be considered as a root for perfectionism, which is regarded as a dysfunctional trait. To elaborate, perfectionism could lead to a destructive form of procrastinating, in which the person never gets productive, because they are fantasizing about the perfect opportunity, or the perfect time, or other perfections that do not exist. This constant state of desiring to be great but not taking any steps towards the goal takes its toll on any human being, making them feel miserable about themselves, filled with self-doubt and a sense of guilt, which might evantually result in depression. All of this may have been avoided, if instead of exposing the children to the ‘fantasy’ of countless opportunities, they had been lectured on the hardships and actual limitations of the real world.

In conclusion, it is not necessarily a bad practice to invoke the ideas of ambitious pursuits in children. However, this must be done with extreme caution, as to avoid putting a burden on the child that they might go on to carry with themselves into their adulthood.