In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this massage?

In todays modern society, children are encouraged to try their best to gain achievements. However, there are both benefits and drawbacks of telling them this message.

On the one hand, this message can do wonders for children in different areas in their real life. First of all, children receiving this encouragement tend to acquire better academic results. The more hours children spending on doing assignments, the better marks they gain. For example, whenever my brother gets bad marks in school, my mother always keeps his chin up and inspires him to study harder. Furthermore, this message can get children out of comfort zone to reach higher level not only in life experience but also relationships with other people. It is the fact that friends in school drift apart gradually because they are not engage in holding conversations and mutual understandings. Hence, children should have extra efforts to strengthen their relationships.

On the other hand, this message also has some drawbacks. Besides the intensive efforts, the keys to success involve in other factors such as luck or financial wealth of their family. For instant, if your family is not rich enough for you to pay the fee for children to pursue tertiary education, it is worth encouraging them focusing on practical skills for work in the future rather than studying. In addition, the goals set should be achievable with childrens abilities. Take one of my student as an example, there are some obstacles that he encounters such as listening skills that makes him have bad results in English exams.

In conclusion, there are both benefits and drawbacks for telling this message to the children. However, I believe that the benefits can outweigh the drawbacks in many ways.