In some cultures children are taught by their parents that they can achieve anything with hard work. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In various cultures, parents impart the belief that their children can attain any goals through diligent and hard-working characteristics. I will consider how this view brings several notable advantages, which I will elucidate in the following paragraphs.

Regarding the merits, we must acknowledge that instilling discipline and persistent characters during childhood period reflects the values of hard work perceived by parents. When they simultaneously encourage diligent task completion, children not only learn effective time management but also embrace failure-tolerant perspective as Scandinavian countries fully engage their young generation in it. Furthermore, this principle enhances children’s creativity requiring their critical-thinking, problem-solving and decision-making skills, ultimately elevating cognitive ability along with conclusive goals. Greta Thunberg, a young activist known for her dedication to environmental issues as a real-life inspiring youth achieving meaningful purposes and positive changes.

By contrast, we must elucidate the various demerits of this issue that ingraining a success through strong work ethic since childhood period disrupt youth life, causing a lack of harmony between academic achievement and social development. In Chinese families, the trend of nerd culture inflicts unhappy and unfriendly children with low self-esteem, thus defecting socialization. Moreover, constant parental pressure significantly jeopardizes the psychological well-being of youngsters, in which this leads to identity crisis and mental issues. These challenges are illustrated by recent studies of British Journal of Psychiatry about a noticeable surge in Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) cases among Canadian children.

In conclusion, while some may perceive potentially drawbacks to certain respects, I would argue that achieving any goals through perseverance principle for children can be substantially significant. Those include nurturing survival skills as well as enhancing cognitive ability.