Some educationalists argue that non-exam, art-based subjects, such as music, drama, art and craft, should be compulsory in the secondary-school curriculum. They believe that activities such as these can improve overall academic performance.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is hotly debated among educationalists whether non-exam, art-based subjects should be made mandatory for secondary students, as those subjects are suggested to help students achieve higher results in their academic life. I totally agree with this viewpoint and believe that these subjects will assist students with the creative thinking needed for learning other academic subjects and provide them with a break from the stress of studying and having exams at school.

Firstly, taking part in art-based subjects such as music, drama, art, and craft enables children to enhance their creativity, an indispensable trait in knowledge acquisition. By participating in these lessons, students will have the chance to learn and work with different types of tools and materials, then use them to create a piece of artwork that best showcase their artistic styles and viewpoints on their own, hence, increasing their creativity. The creativity skills acquired in those classes will allow children to be better at their academic subjects, namely Maths, where students have to come up with methods to solve complex mathematical problems in such a short amount of time just by themselves. In this way, the academic achievement of students will improve tremendously.

Secondly, owing to these non-academic subjects, students finally have some time to relax and relieve stress. It is unarguably true that students have to deal with a lot of academic pressure from their families and peers these days, especially in Asian countries, where competition between students is fierce, and the strain of possessing an excellent academic profile is enormous. Therefore, if students were not given some time to unwind, they would feel demotivated and lose their enthusiasm for studying. If this ever happened, their academic performance would suffer dearly. Participating in art-based activities could help prevent this by giving students a break from their regular academic curriculum and relieving stress by immersing and creating artistic pieces.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that non-exam, art-based subjects could benefit students' academic performance in the long run by increasing their thinking outside the box and helping to alleviate the academic pressure heaped on them. For this reason, they should become obligatory in the secondary curriculum.