Some educationalists argue that non-exam , arts-based subjects , such as music , drama, art and craft , should be compulsory in the secondary –school curriculum. They believe that activities such as these can improve overall academic performance . to what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is hard to overstate the importance of schooling. Therefore, what should and should not be taught at school is constantly a topic of public interest. It is believed by some educationalists that the obligatory secondary-school discipline should encompass a range of non-exam and art-based subjects such as music, drama, art, and craft because they contend that these courses can enhance overall academic performance. I advocate this viewpoint for the reasons provided below.

First, there is no denying that math, physics, science, and other academic subjects are of great essence. Although these subjects lay the solid foundation for students to gain and attain a wealth of fundamental knowledge, which plays a pivotal role in their future, art-related ones, however, cannot be downplayed. A myriad of studies has suggested that these programs afford students the scope to promote both social and cognitive skills. In other words, while drama and music, for instance, stimulate youngsters to strengthen their communication and interpersonal skills, craft and art foster their creativity and imagination, by extension, these virtues indirectly boost the overall academic accomplishment.

Another legitimate rationale is that these non-academic subjects would prove conducive to absorbing more effortlessly tedious courses such as history or literature. In lieu of conventional study methods, impersonating historical figures in drama classes or performing traditional songs enable students to naturally and efficiently be receptive to this dreary knowledge. Furthermore, students can derive great therapeutic pleasure from them, especially young talents possessing artistic attributes. These activities are reckoned to be fertile ground for individuals being endowed with an aptitude for art to unlock their full potential. After all, these particular programs would reduce the strains and pressure which other intense academic ones put on youngsters, thereby facilitating a profound and thorough understanding of all facets of secondary schooling.

In conclusion, the benefits that the art-based curriculum confers on pupils at the secondary level are unequivocally unquestionable. Hence, it behooves schools to allocate more funds for these kinds of courses in order to cultivate an intriguing learning environment for students.