Nowadays people are working from home using computers and telephones. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

In recent decades, there is no denying that the advent of computer and telephone has been representing a paradigm shift in human working methods, and telecommuting is gaining in popularity, especially at the age of Covid 19 outbreak. Although this trend confers pronounced benefits on the masses, there are also more disturbing limitations.

On the one hand, remote working would prove a major contributor to the reduction of carbon footprint induced by daily commutes, thereby alleviating the global warming intensification. In addition, exorbitant operating costs are on the decrease in light of obviating the demand for such expenditure such as management, equipment maintenance, public utilities, among others. For instance, especially in the wave of the Covid 19 pandemic, teleworking is obviously cost-effective, given the adverse effects recently exerted on human race deteriorating the worldwide economic well-being. Furthermore, working through virtual platforms constitutes a silver bullet to keep transmission at bay in this turmoil period.

On the other hand, notwithstanding the comfortable and flexible atmosphere online working cultivates, this option produces diminishing returns in the long term. First, this protracted process would cumulatively drain the workers’ enthusiasm and accountability in default of interaction and supervision. It is acknowledged that face-to-face dynamic among colleagues as well as between employees and employers, which acts as a powerful stimulus for staff to keep the momentum and fulfill their duties, can be by no means emulated by virtual environment. According to the US Department of Labor, 2021 has witnessed a “Great Resignation” phenomenon, with approximately 3.9 million American workers forgoing their job, which is attributable to isolation and lack of collaboration. Moreover, a sedentary lifestyle stemming from this working mechanism is also a pernicious issue. Nowadays, people are confronting with health-related problems in terms of both physical and mental level such as skin diseases and obesity or depression and insomnia resulting from this deviant behavior. By extension, these pitfalls lead to a substantial decline in overall productivity.

In conclusion, virtual working model is merely a provisional solution somewhat favourable at a specific time, and hence, the conventional ones cannot be expendable.