Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contribution to the company by giving them extra money. This practice can act as an incentive for some but may have a negative impact on others.

To what extent is this style of management effective?

Are there better ways of encouraging employees to work hard?

In recent decades, there has been a growing trend that monetary incentives would generally earned as a reward by employees for their exceptional contribution to the corporation’s development. Although it could be a beneficial phenomenon in some extents, a number of other worker-encouraging methods would outweigh those.

On the one hand, there are several benefits of paying bonuses to the employees. First, in order to generate workers’ motivation, awarding them a bonus would definitely be an efficient method. Therefore, their productivity would experience a significant increase, which could act as an incentive for substantial boosts in the company’s profit. Second, by giving extra monetary incentives to the employees, it could rapidly modify their unacceptable behaviors such as unpunctuality and bad dressing. According to a recent survey in BigC supermarket, since bonuses are awarded to punctual staffs, about 90% of those in total have changed their daily routine to get to work on time.

Nevertheless, there are also a variety of methods in order to motivate workers. First, by punishing badly-behaved workers, the pressure of others fields on the corporation’s budget would be reduced as it might be a more economical method than awarding bonuses. As a result, not only the company profits are significantly improved, but also the awareness of the staffs in that corporation would be raised. Second, instead of giving monetary incentives to the employees, managers could recommend them for promotion whenever they greatly contribute to the company’s success. As an exemplar is that almost 100% of BIDV’s staffs reported to be fully satisfied as well as motivated when they are promoted in a recent survey carried out by Vinh university’s students.

In conclusion, in spite of several advantages brought about by giving bonuses to employees, there are a number of other methods that could more efficiently and economically motivate the workers, namely promotion and punishment.