Today, many people do not realise how important the natural world is.

Why is this?

How can people learn more about the importance of the natural world?

In recent decades, there has been a growing phenomenon that citizens’ awareness of the wild world’ importance substantially decreases over periods of time. Given that the trend has potential for significant negative impacts, identifying the reason is the key to find solutions.

There are a variety of reasons for little understanding about natural world of individuals. First, due to the gradual development of cities as well as metropolitan areas, a great number of individuals would tend to live distantly from the natural habitats in order to meet their demands for either occupations or education. Consequently, this acts as a deterrent for citizens to enjoy the beauty of the flora and fauna, translate into no necessity of citizens’ knowledge about the planet in which they are residing. Second, since the academic knowledge is excessively emphasized in several nations’ education systems, learners would experience a lack of practices in their curriculum. A recent survey has point out that grade-9 pupils in Vietnam could only have approximately 4-5 practical lessons in comparisons with 60 lessons they totally have on a year education.

Nevertheless, there are also a myriad of solution in order to tackle this issue. First, it seems evident that the most essential solutions among those which are targeted to enhance the public’ awareness is definitely the official education. In particular, the authorities should make environment-related subjects compulsory at school in order to improve the students’ environmental awareness, which could result in their proper actions in the future. Second, by widely producing and broadcasting articles as well as videos on the social media, information about the natural habitats could easily approach to the citizens, as those kinds of media is extremely attractive to individuals. In fact, since climate change becomes more serious, articles and videos of this theme have been appearing with increasing frequency, capturing more inhabitants’ attention and providing them with basic knowledge of environmental problems.

In conclusion, even though the lack of knowledge about natural environment seems inevitable in today’s world, there are various methods to confront with it. Education and broadcasting videos on the social media could be two of the most useful way to tackle this issue.