Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contribution to the company by giving them extra money. This practice can act as an incentive for some but may also have a negative impact on others.

To what extent is this style of management effective?

Are there better ways of encouraging employees to work hard?

Whenever comes to the issue that whether employers should reward workers for their contribution to the company by giving them bonus money or not, there are never short of discussions and arguments. Some people believe that directors should pay cash prizes members of staff working hard and effective. I completely agree with this idea and in this essay I will support my opinion with reasons.

One of the main argument related to the fact that earning additional money leads to chance increasing income in order to better support family and our personal needs due to the fact that in modern world money seems to be the most necessary property for everyone. For instance, I work in a multinational company where more than 200 people work. The best employee of the month usually get more than 500 dollars and a certificate. Last year I was awarded the prize twice and so my family had an opportunity to travel during Christmas.

Another strong argument is that even tough we know only really successful workers get the prize, every employee will try to be at the top list for their performance and it is clear that giving extra money leads competition among the members of the staff. Money awards usually cause total rise in the general success rate of company.

On the other hand, many people who think that there are other motivating factors like job satisfaction, working environment, career prospect and relationship with co-workers.

In conclusion, money with proper recognition for the best performing employee could be the best way to motivate and inspire workers in an organization to work smarter and harder.