Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In the current era of integration and globalization, mastering another language aside from the mother tongue is considered to be crucial and trendy. Therefore, that elementary students should be taught a second language is advocated by several specialists. Although there are some drawbacks of early language learning, I would argue that there are far more positives.

The main negative of the trend towards picking up a new language at primary school is that students’ national language is likely to be overshadowed. When students are immersed in a foreign language soon, they unwittingly insert many foreign words when talking with their parents and friends. To account for that, many pupils say sometimes they have difficulty finding out the words or phrases in their indigenous language that can exactly depict what they want to talk about because they are used to speaking a foreign language instead. That not only makes other people irritating when having a conversation with them but also has an adverse impact on the beauty of their first language.

Despite the disadvantages mentioned above, I believe that learning a foreign language is a positive development for numerous reasons. Firstly, it allows children to boost their intelligence. In 2004, the journal Nature published a groundbreaking study in the field of language, showing that children who learn a foreign language early have higher grey matter density in the brain. Secondly, children have more opportunities to study because there are fewer subjects and more spare time when children are at primary school than secondary education, which facilitates and sparks their interest in learning a foreign language.

In conclusion, while I recognise the possible downsides of children learning a second language at a young age, I consider it to be a beneficial development overall.