In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In this day and age, it is a trend that more twelfth grade students are inclined to take a gap year to work or travel with the advocacy of many individuals around them. On the young, this is thought to have both beneficial and harmful consequences. The positives that a gap year affords students, in my opinion, outweigh the negatives to some extent.

Unfortunately, not everyone can be confident enough to face several risks after taking a year off. Firstly, students may have to cope with the sensation of being left behind. For instance, when they return to the university, their peers have already studied and prepared for employment. Moreover, most of the students are likely to get into financial difficulties without their parents’ backing. High school students are often so naïve that they are unable to arrange their accurate budget for the trips; therefore, they may run out of money in the middle of their journey.

On the contrary, there are numerous benefits that it is worth for the students travelling and working once graduating from high schools. One of the most crucial advantages to highlight is that the students can better themselves in a variety of ways. In other words, taking a year off to travel allows them to broaden their horizons, namely that they can pick up another language or find out more about diverse cultures. Another factor to consider is that the young can take advantage of free time to earn money. They may, for example, pursue a part-time job or simply assist their parents with their business at home.

In conclusion, some problems may arise when the young take the challenge to do something distinct like having a year off, they can tremendously benefit from it.