Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantage of this outweigh the disadvantage?

It is true that from the scientist's perspective, children are beneficial to access to foreign language environment when they are primary students compared to those lower secondary school. While the trend produces several harmful impacts, I am strongly convinced that it is likely to involve more significant benefits.

On the one hand, there are a number of major drawacks when a child starts studying a new language at primary school. The first minus point is that the multitude of elementary school teachers may not have the necessary language skills themselves. In other words, while secondary school teachers are required a great of levels in different languages with their intake, language teaching skills might be considered as additional factor for those at primary school. As a consequence, the amount of knowledge and interactive ability between student and teacher are dimished, which is detrimental to linguistic development of children in the years to come. Another point is that learning too much about another language while having not yet enough about their mother-tongue can make kids forget partly or use their native language improperly.

On the other hand, I believe that the benefits are much more significant than such disadvantages. Firstly, at young age, children can make it easy to learn faster and mimic pronunciation better. Given the fact that children, who are approximately between five and nine years, have the capacity to remember things twice as fast and effectively than people from other age group. Secondly, learning a new language acts as a precursor for student's curiosity to explore the world naturally. Clearly, when learning a foreign language, they can also come across with foreign cultures and this results in increasing a wide range of knowledge and setting the nice platform for critical thinking which supports for academic programs at school.

In conclusion, it seems to me that advantages of learning a foreign language at early age are notewothier than the disadvantages.