Due to the globalization, acquiring foreign languages are becoming a trend all over the world. However,such trend raised numerous controversies on whether a child should start learning a foreign language at primary school rather than the usual program. In my opinion, this idea has its ups and downs which will be discussed further to asset if the advantages truly outweigh the disadvantages.

In terms of merits, the top benefit of starting to learn a new language at primary school is that children will have more time to master the language. Primary students have little or no assignments; hence, they do not need to divide their concentration on many things at the same time This means that not only does starting to learn a new language at such age grants children more time to master the language but it also help they focus entirely on their learning. Next to that, exposing to a foreign language early can help form mindsets for children. It is verified that multi-linguists possess a set of mindsets that take turn influence the brain's activities. Ultimately, creating new mindsets for children helps enhance their creativity, logic, deduction skill and critical thinking.

Nevertheless, trying to learn a new language at such early age leads to various detrimental consequences. In terms of linguistic skills, children's linguistic ability has yet to develop properly, so introducing another language causes confusion for the children. As a result, they fail to utilise their mother tongue as well as the foreign language or end up mixing up the native language and the foreign language. Moreover, children have not yet to control their behaviours completely and they have not acquired the autonomy, so forcing them to learn so much at this age can be pseudo-scientific. Next, learning new languages in primary school take away students' leisure time. Ordinarily, children spend 5 to 8 hours a day at school. This is the sufficient time for youngsters to gain and absorb information. However, many parents sign up for extra-curriculum language classes for their children that reduce the usual leisure time of their kids. Consequently, children lack not only physical activies but they also do not have the time to develop other life skills.

To conclude, it is clear that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages in many cases. But in spite of such disadvantages, it is still an outstanding idea to study a foreign language in primary years with the right instructor and methods.