In recent years, the majority of children spend their time on virtual recreation activities rather than physical activities. There are numerous causes such phenomenon. While there are solid proves to say this is a positive development, it is rather oherwise.

The top reason that makes children chose video games other than sports is that devices are becoming more and more complex. Due to this constant innovation, the gaming industry is revolutionized; they have access to more sophisticated technology that can create products akin to the real world, causing children to be engrossed in games. Namely, technology has successfully developped Virtual Reality devices that enable players to truly be the characters. Moreover, the advancement in technology enables the marketing industry to thrive; hence, smart devices become more popular among children. Nowadays, almost everyone possesses a smart phone with full access to the internet. Next to that, children are exposed to smart phones to soon; thus, they soon become addicted to these devices.

While many people claim that playing video games enhances children's cognitive skills as well as their creativity, these advantages can not surpass the adverse impacts of video games to children's health. First and foremost, spending too much time exposing to the blue light-the light of the devices' screen can leads to a deficiency in eyesights, and neglecting physical activities causes many health issues. Since most chidren's gaming session take place indoor, they are shielded from natural light and lack physical movements. It is proven that lacking physical activities results in a deficiency in the immune system, cardiovascular and even the respiratory system. Secondly, video game addiction prevents children from having a proper lifestyle. Children who are addicted to video games fail to maintain a healthy routine; hence, they can be sleep deprived, malnutrition and deteriorating performances at school. Last but not least, children who choose video game over sports might have less opportunities to socialize, resulting in an inadequacy in communicating skills and anti-social symptoms.

In conclusion, spending excessive time on video games without proper physical exercises is a negative development that should be prevented.