Due to the globalization, acquiring foreign languages are becoming a trend all over the world. Some professionals argue that it is more effective for children to start learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. This, however, raised numerous controversies. In this essay, I will discuss the advantages and disadvantages to asset whether the benefits truly outweigh the inconvenients.

On the one hand,in terms of merits, the earlier one decide to learn something, the better he will master it. To begin with,starting to learn a foreign language in primary school means that the child have more time focus on mastering it. Since primary students' assignments are limited, they have plenty of time; unlike teenagers or adults who have a handful of work but limited time. Next to that, children in primary school are only starting to experience a more advance level of their mother tongue and their linguistic ability is still evolving. Therefore, introducing a new language to the child at this age group actually optimises time and ensures a total control of the language in the future.

On the other hand, forcing youngsters to learn a new language can have detrimental effects. Firstly, while childhood time are for days without care or joy, many children are spending their times in closed door revising pieces after pieces of grammar or vocabularies. Many parents schedule all the time of their kids on learning causing the lack of physical activities. Additionally, such pressure from parents aggravate parent and children conflicts that can affect children mental health as well as their physical well-being. Secondly, compelling someone, especially a child, to learn something is pseudo-science and ineffective. Doing such things only makes the children more hostile toward the subject and end up neglecting it before accomplish anything since they have yet to have the sense of autonomy.

To conclude, the disadvantages certainly outweight the advantages in many cases. Nevertheless, it is not entirely a bad idea to start learning a language soon. If combined with the correct methods, it is a must for parents to help their youngsters acquire a foreign language.