Internet social media have become very popular. To what extent do you think this is a good or bad thing? Why do you think this is the case?

Due to the constant advancement of technology, social medias have become increasingly common. There are numerous reasons to this phenomenon. While certain advantages come along with the phenomenon, it still has detrimental effects on our life.

The top reason for this situation is the rapid development of technology. The continual introduction of new generations of smart devices enable social platforms to be more accessible, since they can connect to the Internet at a staggering speed and precision; additionally, devices are becoming more mobile and convenient. Next to it, the popularity of social medias relies solely on their mechanisms. The platforms use algorithms in a way that cause be people to be addicted to them. These algorithms show users what they need base on their information, favouritism or bias. For example, Facebook's news feed show users posts relevant to what they have interacted with in the past.

While many people claim that the popularity of these platform makes communication more simple and less expensive, it comes with tremendous drawbacks. Firstly, making these platform more common means that people will expose to more unfiltered information. Social medias are constructed not only by developers, users also take part in creating a virtual society, meaning the information on such platforms is merely unverified ideas. Hence, social medias aggravate the false information problem. Secondly, social medias are highly addictive. As I mentioned above, social medias work in a way that make users to be engrossed in them, and being addicted to surfing the net is extremely harmful to one's health. Moreover, being addicted prevent users from working productively. Last but not least, although social medias help connect people from all over the world, they can give users a false sense of relationship. This means that the platforms can make a person disoriented and neglect their trustworthy friends to pursuit something as mediocre as followers.

In conclusion, the popularity of social medias leads to various adverse impacts on our life. Nevertheless, it is not a bad idea to use social media wisely.