Traditionally, children began to be exposed to a foreign language at secondary school, however, introducing them earlier is recommended by some educationalists. In this case, I believe the merits outweigh the drawbacks.

Learning a foreign language at an early age brings children a range of different benefits. To begin with, primary students who are at the age of 6 to 10 prone to understand any language quickly because their brains are still programmed to acquire their mother tongue. Moreover, unlike adolescence, children are not inhibited by self-consciousness, it helps them to absorb the language more firmly and naturally. Furthermore, learning a new language gives children a potential future with an essential key for opening the language barrier. Having knowledge of a language means fairly understand the native’s culture, therefore, children not only study the language but also be aware of the variety of different tradition around the world among the global integration era.

Besides the advantages, there are some drawbacks need to be diminished. As we all know, the more qualified the teacher, the more children can good at the subject. Nevertheless, it is quite difficult to hire high quality tutors for primary school. The reason of this problem is that high quality teachers demand for an excessive salary that not every parents can afford it. As a result, if children do not acquire the right knowledge about the language, it will be tough for them to go even further.

In conclusion, learning a foreign language is suitable for the primary students with plenty of advantages. On the other hand, to restrict the difficulty, there should be some policies in arranging the appropriate language supervisors for elementary school.