Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school

Some experts have a belief that it is preferable for pupils to start studying an additional language at primary schools rather than secondary schools. Though there are several drawbacks regarding this tendency, I do believe that benefits can overshadow them.

This essay will first demonstrate that the earlier they learn a foreign language, the faster fluency they can achieve is the primary advantage, followed by an analysis of the confusion children might deal with when they are following other languages.

One possible disadvantage is when pupils study an additional language, they will be confused between their mother tongue since they have to learn both languages at the same time; moreover, each language has its own rules of grammar or even vocabulary. For instance, studying English and French. English does not distinguish between male and female to use the proper noun, but French does.

However, the aforementioned drawbacks can be overshadowed by the advantages involving this trend. It is true that learning at a young age can increase the likelihood that children will obtain faster fluency in adulthood. This is because children's brains form neutral connections at a rapid pace; on the other hand, at that time, the brains are developing and then become specialized, reinforcing the neural pathways that are regularly used. This makes brains more efficient and learning new things more challenging and it seems perfectly normal to speak bilingually. For example, a survey found that nearly 95% of adults are fluent cause they had learned other languages before.

On balance, the fact that primary school students should learn a foreign language because it is a period of time that children are developing, even more, they can benefit the development of brains to master language profoundly outweigh the negative impacts above.