Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as coursework or projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree or disagree?

Practical examinations can be considered the utmost effective method to evaluate the conduct of scholars in learning institutes. However, constant assessments such as coursework or projects are not the best way to examine how students perform in the subjects. It is agreed that official papers are the means of appraising pupils' performance. This essay will analyze why holding an exam is beneficial to assess each student and why teachers should not rely on regular exams to mark the final grades.

To begin with, it is certain that, an exam is held in the presence of teachers; as a result, they will do it by themselves and there is nobody cheat someone's effort. During the time students sit for an exam, they will be thoroughly observed by school supervisors; consequently, they try all their effort into the test without copying others' work. Moreover, through school papers, it can be assured that those who are deserving students will receive good marks and outrank others. Therefore, official assessment in class can help professors evaluate the actual act of a student.

On the contrary, having students take an exam cannot give an obvious picture of their academic achievement to their trainers and also their parents. For example, in a university or college, undergraduates can use someone's project test and teachers fail to assess the real accomplishment of their disciples. Sadly, plagiarism can lead students to the one who does not actively acquire knowledge then access their later life adversely due to the lack of knowledge and experience. Hence, regular tests cannot be an appropriate way to examine a student's real ability.

In conclusion, formal assessments are a certainly lucrative and effective way to appraise students' probability of studying. Nevertheless, getting constant examinations such as coursework or projects is not the best way for teachers to depend on and give their pupils the final marks.