Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

Though learning a foreign language is common in almost every country, experts do not have consensus on the time children should start being taught a second language. Some educators believe that children can obtain more benefits from learning a new language if they start learning at primary school instead of secondary school. This essay is aimed to answer whether the advantages of early education of foreign languages surpass the disadvantages.

Opponents to this idea hold that teaching a second language for pre-teenage children may put more pressure on their study and affect the development of their mother tongue. Adding one more subject to primary schools' syllabus increases children's studying hours at school. To improve their second language, children have to spend more time at home on reviewing new knowledge such as vocabulary and grammars, thus they have less time for after school activities such as discovering a nearby forest and socialising with their peers. In addition, children who learn a second language in their early age tend to mix words from their first and second languages in the same sentence. Some experts claim that their first language is impurified. They claim that at early ages, children's mother tough does not develop well enough so obtaining a second language may distort their first immature language.

However, proponents of the idea hold that the above side-effects of learning a second language at early ages can be alleviated for the children learning a new language early. Firstly, instead of increasing the number of subjects students have to study at primary school, educators can merge some traditional subjects such as math, physics and chemistry into one subject so that children's studying hours do not increase. Schools can even consider teaching students some subjects in a second language so the learning process can be more natural and effortless. Moreover, though children can sometimes mix their first and second language in their speech, they can control both languages better in conversation once they develop better language abilities in both languages. For instance, there are many children who are bilangual but they still delivery perfect speech in both languages.

Many experts believe that allowing children to absorb a second language at early ages has various benefits for them. The earlier students learn a second language, the more naturally they can use the language as a native speaker. Additionally, learning another language can help children discover another culture and think with a different mindset from their original culture. As a result, they can be more open-minded from the early ages.

In short, though there are some disadvantages of starting teaching children a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school, the positive sides outweigh the concerns. Educators can redesign syllabus so that the learning process does not put more pressure on students and guide children to control both languages. Teaching them a second language early can help them absorb it better and be more tolerant for cultural differences.