In some countries, a few people earn extremely high salaries. Some people think that this is good for a country, whiles others believe that the government should control salaries and limit the amount people can earn.

Discuss both view and give your opinion.

There are some nations that a small number of people are paid with extremely high salaries. While those supporting this ideas, including myself, claim that this benefits those countries, objectors to this hold that there should be a wage ceiling to control the amount that a person can receive from his or her job.

The two of many reasons that many countries accept enormous salaries paid for some employees are improvement of the ability to attract talents and increase in the amount of tax paid by high income taxpayers. Nowadays, it is widely acknowledged that the amount of money someone earns is the measure to his or her success. Therefore, a huge number of talented people tend to choose the highest paying job they are offered to fulfill their desire to be successful and glorious in other peoples’ eyes. In addition, in most of the countries in the world, the higher income a person receive, the higher percentage of tax he or she has to pay. As a result, governments are more likely to collect more tax from these people to redistribute this amount of budget to society.

On the other hand, those opposed to unlimited pay for staff in companies hold that the maximum remuneration should be regulated in order to better reduce the wealth gap in the society. According to the research published in The Economist in this month, extreme distinction between the asset of the richest and of the poorest in a country contributes to generate the dissatisfaction towards the government and expected strikes, which can cost businesses and the country billions of dollars per year. Moreover, if companies do not spend too much capital on payment for some employees, they will have more financial resources to increase salaries for the workers who receive insufficient pays.

In conclusion, although a country allowing companies to remunerate as much money as they can for their personnel can attract more talents and enlarge its national budget from tax imposed on high-income people, restricting the limit of salary can contribute to narrow the difference in the income of the rich and the poor.