Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets, many small local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Because of the growth and quick spread of supermarkets, the existence of many small local businesses has been threatened. Some people hold that the death of local communities will be caused by the closure of local business. In my opinion, I think local communities can suffer from the success of supermarkets but their vitality, supported with positive effect of supermarkets’ appearance, still remains.

On the one hand, the two main negative effects of the closure of the businesses on the community are that it forces many residents to find new occupations or vocations and reduces the chance to build relationship between neighbors. Because the number of small retail stores shrinks, bankrupted businesses’ owners and employees may have to spend significant time and finance on retraining for a new field, partly prevent them from participating local social activities. In addition, according to social research conducted by The Economist, in the places where supermarkets are not located, nearly half of the amount of communication among neighbors takes place through the sales of everyday goods to each other. Without these activities, local residents have fewer chances to updating individual information to support their intimacy, becoming much more isolated from each other.

On the other hand, the increasing popularity of supermarkets may contribute to retain local communities’ internal connections by paying more tax and providing cheaper but better commodity. Exploiting of economies of scales, supermarkets might earn tremendous profit. Therefore, the amount of tax they have to pay is likely to surpass the total figure of small businesses that are forced to be closed by them. With such huge amount of surplus budget, local councils can be more generous to develop public facilities for their own residents. Additionally, enjoying lower prices of goods from supermarkets, local citizens’ cost of living possibly decreases so that they can expend a higher percentage of their income on collective cultural activities which arguably strengthen their relationship.

In short, although supermarkets can be partially harmful to local communities by causing the unemployment for people who work in local businesses and reducing the communication frequency among local residents, they might not erase the communities but can make contribution to them by providing more capital and competitive prices of goods.