As we are entering a new era, the one of globalisation, being bilingual or even polylingual is critically beneficial and can be the cutting edge for your child to success. Many pieces of research yielded the same conclusions, which best way to learn a second language is to do it when we are young. In fact, the benefits come from the learning a foreign language between the age of 6 to 9 is far superior to the ones that gained by adults.

It is a well-known fact that children under the age of 6 to 9 have better memory, better ability to adapt and in general, is a better student than adults. Many cases, in which kids who were still in primary school can use fluently more than one language, were recorded, primarily due to their early exposure to such languages. Besides the relevance of the age, children in primary school do not have to learn as many subjects as when in secondary school, thus they can better prioritise their study of the new language

Being fluently in a second language due to early exposure can save a child much time to learn other subject and even learn other issues in that second language. For instance, in Vietnam, it is significantly beneficial for students, especially form secondary school, to be able to use a secondary language fluently, since they can take advantage form the various source of references and information of other countries.

Nevertheless, there have been some controversies on this matter, and some people believe that learning a new language before secondary school is too early and it leads to the disorganisation and confusion in using both languages. However, this problem usually only appears if the child does not have the formal and well-thought education system. The chaos of using two languages in children emerges from learning them in a casual, unorganised manner.

In conclusion, the importance of having a second language is undeniable. However, it is essential to we when is the right time and how is the right way for our children to start learning it.