Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

Learning at-least one foreign language has become very important nowadays. This is because, common perception is, if we speak more foreign languages we will be considered as competent people. In this essay, I will discuss both the pros and cons of learning a foreign language and finally give my opinion.

To begin with, if a child starts to learn a strange language at his/her primary school, the child will easily catch up as he/she is very young. Because, the best time to study new things is the childhood. In addition, children will find it comfortable when they enter their secondary education if they learn during their early school days. For example, English is an international language and commonly used in most of the secondary education systems/universities. Therefore, if the student steps in to the university with a good English knowledge it will always be a competitive advantage.

In contrast, if we consider the negative side of introducing a foreign language in primary schools, it might be too early for a student as he/she will not be exposed an environment where he/she can apply the learning. Furthermore, this will put more pressure on young people as they are already burdened with a lot of technical subjects such as, mathematics, science chemistry and so on. On the other hand, this new learning will incur extra money by attending tuition classes.

In conclusion, I strongly believe it is advantageous to begin to learn a strange verbal communication mechanism at primary schools instead of waiting till the college education. This will increase the period of knowledge gaining and definitely enhances the competency of a child. Hence the advantages overtake the disadvantages.