Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills

Do you agree or disagree

The academic curriculum in this contemporary world has not been tailor made to be proactive. This has resulted in curriculum being focused more on theoretical knowledge rather than practical capabilities. This has induced the younger generation to be book worm rather than thinking out of box.

Firstly, the core subjects are designed to teach only the facts. Further, these are drafted by relevant authorities in isolation without considering corporate world. For instance, some of the accounting techniques and ratios taught are not being followed by professionals. Therefore, these will not help the future generation, when they enter job market.

Secondly, curriculum related to art also focuses more on cultivating theoretical background. These does not facilitate students to develop their creative skills. Fo example, the subject program for music, drama and dance only stress on theory, rather the practical side. As a result, people will not be able to excel the optimum benefit.

However, it is also important to develop concrete foundation. Hence, the facts should be taught to the children for them to develop practical skills later. As a result, major portion of learning hours is spent on teaching. In addition, this should be developed into application skills in corporate world.

When all the above are considered, I agree that, high propotion of time is spent on studying facts. This is evident in this present education system. Not only that, the subjects related to performing arts also spent spend more time in learning theories. As a result, the amendment in the present system is mandatory to shape up the future generation