Compare the advantages and disadvantages of three of the following as media for communicating information. State which you consider to be the most effective.

1. Comics

2. Books

3. Radio

4. Television

5. Film

6. Theatre

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

There are several types of media, which communicate information to general audience, regardless of specific age group. Print media, such as newspapers and books, mass media, such as television and radio and social media, such as Facebook and Linkedin are such classifications. Out of the listed types of media, the comparisons are evaluated in comics, television and film, in view of their effectiveness in communicating information to public.

Firstly, comics have both advantages and disadvantages in addressing information to viewers. Hence, comics attract all kind of readers or listeners, irrespective of particular age group to convey messages. In particularly, the political information are effectively communicated through comics than other sources. However, these types of media will not help to communicate more serious problems and will not last in viewers’ mind for long.

Secondly, the television helps to communicate information not only through vocally, but also through visually. The news bulletins are effectively communicated through it, as viewers have ability of watching moving pictures and news reader. On contrast, people get addicted by watching television for long hours and as a result, suffer from health hazards, in instance, visual problems.

Thirdly, the film influences the general audience largely. The way a film is made with all entertainment elements will facilitate in influencing people a lot. On the other hand, some films are produced for commercial purposes, which affects the reliability of information.

In my personal view, the film is the effective source of media to communicate information. The film personalities can communicate effectively and influence viewers a lot than any other media personalities. This the reason for deploying film personalities in commercial advertisements and promotions.

In summary, all the media types, such as comics, television and films have its benefits and drawbacks. Among all, I personally consider film is the most effective mode of communicating information. Generally, messages conveyed by them influences audiences a lot.