Some feel that the effects of advertising are positive for individuals and businesses, while others think they are harmful. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Many think that advertisement brings more demerits since they manipulate people's minds. While some agree with that notion, I believe it impacts positively as it addresses solutions to people's problems.

Advertisements can be manipulated in people's minds as it is encouraged by the companies' interest to boost sales. This leads to irrational purchasing behavior adopted by customers, resulting from being driven by emotion that leads to an unhealthy lifestyle. For instance, Apple is addressed as a luxury brand that exclusively targets those who have money, creating a stigma only the rich own an iPhone. Due to the desire to be included in such status, many do everything to own an iPhone, including putting themselves in debt. Young adults in many developing nations statistically show this. Thus, a brand advertisement can encourage people's purchases by influencing their mindset.

On the other hand, offering a solution to tackle people's problems is the main reason advertisement impacts more positively, making their life more convenient. This is because products are primarily created to solve people's problems, but sometimes people are unaware as no advertisements are seen around. For instance, before putting an ad on Youtube, many young Indonesian did not know about an app called Bisaivest, which can help them to calculate a stock's intrinsic value using AI. At the same time, the manual calculation is the main reason they find it challenging to invest in stock. After seeing the Bisainvest ad, many reviews say that the app truly helps them invest in the desired stock.

To conclude, although some advertisements can be manipulated to people's thoughts, I argue it also brings merit as highlighting solutions to tackle people's problems. If possible, people need to differ which advertisement is manipulating and which one is not.