Some governments say how many children a family can have in their country. They may control the number of children someone has through taxes. It is sometimes necessary and right for a government to control the population in this way. Do you agree or disagree?

In many countries, the government have the authority to decide how many children its people can have. Some governments try to control the population by imposing higher taxes on people who have more children than is permitted. However, I agree that in order to control the population growth the government should have the legal authority to determine the size of families. In this essay, we will first examine how the problem of overpopulation can be controlled through such measures and also how proper check on population can lead to an increase in the economic growth of a nation.

To begin with, the world is witnessing the adverse effects of overpopulation like crime, illiteracy and pollution in many countries. With the implementation of taxes, people will understand the benefits of having a small family and this will in a way make them plan for a baby well in advance. For instance, In China people follows a two-child policy and citizens violating the law often have to pay fine or face other types of punishment. Such stringent laws have enabled them to control their population growth, and now it is developing rapidly.

In addition, if a state authority can control the birth date by imposing higher taxes or fines on violators, they will observe an elevation in the economic and social growth of their country. People will have a good standard of living. Children will grow up to be more disciplined as well as responsible citizens of their country. Thus, this measure will boost the economic growth of the country. To illustrate, according to a survey conducted by a UK university, families having one or two kids are the happiest.

In conclusion, the government should have the legal authority to reduce the size of families by imposing fines or other types of punishment on people who have more children than is permitted. While this might seem to be a violation of the rights of citizens, in the long run, it will benefit everyone by helping the economy grow. Hence such measures are justified.