There is an ongoing debate about whether the tactics that are adapted for making the commercials defy the ethics and morals of the society. Some agree with this opinion, whereas there are a few who believe the contrary. I firmly agree with the stand taken by the former group. My reasons for the same will be discussed in the ensuing paragraphs.

To begin with, the foremost reason why I consider certain advertising strategies as unethical is keeping in mind the negative influences they have on the naive minds of the customers. Children and teenagers are most seriously affected by the commercials depicting the latest toys, clothing, and gadgets and pressurize their parents for buying them. Many times, people buy products that do not fit in their budget just because they are promoted by their favorite superstars or sportsmen which can lead them to a severe financial crisis.

My secondary reason to agree with the view given in the statement is that certain adverts promote food items which can prove to be injurious to the health of the individual consuming them. An appropriate example of this is the commercials of various tobacco products which are designed in a way to encourage people to consume them. With the advent of technology, online advertising via the mode of social media has also increased which can install various viruses in the devices on which they are played. When a person is browsing the internet, he may also be irritated by the constant pop-ups.

On the other hand, not all advertisements have a negative impact on society. They can also be used as a medium for spreading awareness in the society about various diseases and their cures. Another potential use of commercials could be to remove discrimination on the basis of race, gender, caste, religion and to promote equality and feelings of brotherhood among people. For instance, there are numerous adverts that discourage the practice of female infanticide and promote girl child education.

Thus, to draw a conclusion, it can be said that, utmost care must be taken by the directors while shooting advertisements. All the aspects of commercials which are immoral or unacceptable must be edited and more emphasis must be placed on highlighting the details which can enlighten the people of the society.