Some of the Methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in todays society

To what extent do you agree with this view.

Advertisement have grown in popularity over the years, advert are on television, on the world wide web, in the street and even on our mobile phone. Today some of the ways in which is advertisement are been carried out are immoral and not acceptable in the society.

To begin with, the fact is we can not escape from advertisement and sometimes we really need this adverts. But in gets infuriating and irritating to see an advert in every corner we turn to, these advertisement companies are bombarding us with too much or unnecessary adverts even at the expense of invading our privacy and comfort zone. For Instance, advertisements through mobile phones, where the technological companies or network providers can send advertisements message through SMS to our phone or in some cases through calls whenever they want to without considering if we are really interested in such adverts. Thus, as a result of this it is unacceptable to the society for they to bombard us with unwanted adverts and at the same time invade our peace.

Further aspect in which i think advertisement is unethical, is due to the fact that they promote and advertise things that are hazardous to our health. Take for example, the advertisement of tobacco and alcohol have a detrimental effect on our society as this encourages people to smoke and drink excessively. Although advertising of tobacco have been banned on some across the world i think the same courtesy should be extended to alcoholic advertisements because as a result of this, there have been a increase in underage drinking. This pose a grave threat to our society and such advertisements are immoral. In addition to this, sometimes advertising of the latest toys and gadgets can put massive pressure on young children as well as parents. This young children would be so desperate to lay their hands on this latest cool gadgets and toys which may lure them in committing unspeakable acts like stealing, and sometimes parents are forced to spend what they can not afford.

To conclude, although advertisement is a nice marketing skill. The method it is been carried out these days can encourage unhealthy lifestyle as well as the invasion of personal space in our society which i think is uncalled for and unsocial for our society.